Give Kids a Chance Charity Inc. is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors who is responsible for program sustainability and risk management. The board ensures that all programs supported by the charity are meeting Canada Revenue Agency guidelines for disbursement quotas (minimum amounts charities are required to spend and that plans are in place for short and long-term sustainability through annual submissions of forms, ongoing consultations, and evaluation.

Leslie Blyth


Leslie was nominated to the board by the Saskatchewan Soccer Association (SSA) in 2016. She has been a strong supporter of soccer for almost 20 years. She has been a SSA board member since 1998, serving as president, vice-president and past president and participating on many committees. For over 35 years, Blyth has worked as an Educator in Regina.

Darren Wilcox

Past Chair

Darren joined the board in 2015 after being nominated by the Saskatchewan Hockey Association. In addition to his volunteer activities, Darren has been responsible for fundraising for the University of Regina men's hockey team and has served on the board of the University of Regina Cougar Hockey Alumni Association. 

Elan Ballantyne

Elan was nominated to the board in 2017 by Golf Saskatchewan. She is a community consultant for the City of Saskatoon and the director of golf and basketball for EB Sports Academy. She has been actively involved with the University of Saskatchewan Huskies Women's Basketball Foundation, serving as chairman of the golf tournament committee and as a committee member on the annual breakfast committee.

Jessie Buydens

Buydens is currently the President of the Wild Oats Rugby Club in Saskatoon. She served as the President of the Saskatoon Valkyries from 2010-2014 and the North Saskatchewan Rugby Union from 2009-2015. She recently retired from playing rugby and has coached the Wild Oats junior girl’s program for 18 years. During her time playing football, she was a member of the Saskatoon Valkyries and also Team Canada—where she earned a silver medal at the 2013 World Championships.

Al Dyer

Al was nominated to the board in 2017 by Special Olympics Saskatchewan. He has been actively involved with Special Olympics Saskatchewan since 1999, previously serving as chairman of the board and the audit committees. Al has been involved in several major events: 2015 Special Olympic Canada Summer Games (mission staff), 2014 Saskatchewan Winter Games (chair of the GOC) and 2013 Special Olympics Canada National Games (mission staff). 

Carol Chernishenko

Chernishenko has been an active member in the Saskatchewan synchronized swimming community for nearly 20 years. She served as the Vice President, Sport Development since 2012 and previously as the Vice President, Finance and Administration for Synchro Saskatchewan, and she is a synchronized swimming provincial-level judge and national-level referee.

Kenric Exner

Kenric was nominated to the board in 2017 by the Saskatchewan Hockey Association. He has spent the past five years coaching in the 345 Fun Hockey League. Over the years, he has organized and instructed various youth private hockey schools and instructed specialized goalie clinics for the Saskatchewan Hockey Association. 

Angella Pinay

Pinay previously served on the Sask Sport Board from 2011-14 and is currently a member of the Indigenous Sport Leadership Council. She has also served on the board for the Saskatchewan Soccer Association and Saskatchewan Volleyball Association. She competed in volleyball at the North American Indigenous Games (NAIG) in 1993, 1995, 2002 and 2006. Pinay, who has degrees in physical education, education and a Master of Business Administration, has coached club volleyball, basketball, badminton and track in Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Dale Reed

Dale was nominated to the board in 2017 by Gymnastics Saskatchewan. He has been an active board member with Gymnastics Saskatchewan over the past five years, serving on the nomination, strategic planning and ends policy committee. He has also served two terms on the Gymnastics Canada Board of Directors.

Josh Shankowsky

Shankowsky is designated a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA) and has a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from the University of Regina. Shankowsky values the importance of sport in community, and is excited to contribute his corporate skills to the Board. Professionally, he specializes in delivering comprehensive taxation services and ongoing business advice.

Misty Alexandre

Misty was nominated to the board in 2016 by the Saskatchewan Hockey Association. She has been the chair of the KidSport Saskatoon Breakfast Committee and was also a committee member for the recent University of Saskatchewan Ice Facility Campaign. Misty was a former player with the University of Saskatchewan Women's Huskie Hockey Team, and later acted as an assistant coach and colour commentator for the team's web broadcasts. She is now one of the lead organizers for their Alumni fundraising committee. 

Murray Stroeder

Stroeder has spent the past three years on the board of CURLSASK and the past four years on the board of Curl Moose Jaw. He has coached high school curling in Anaheim and Humboldt and has officiated many curling events, including three provincial play downs. Stroeder has enjoyed a successful curling career at the competitive and club level, curling in cash spiels and three different levels of provincial play downs.

Todd Hollinger

Todd was nominated to the board by the University of Regina in 2016. He was a founding member and Director for the Cougar Hockey Alumni Association. He was a member of the University of Regina Cougar hockey team from 1992-1997. He has also served as a coach in the Regina Community Basketball League and Hockey Regina. Todd spends his free time as an amateur philosopher, (own) home renovator, landscaper, and watching his children improve their skills in all types of sports.